Windows 10 – How to Delete Saved Wi-Fi Networks



Each time you automatically connect to a Wi-Fi network using your Windows 10 machine, the operating system will save the information into the device so that you don’t have to input the password to the network over-and-over-again. For the most part, this is incredibly useful, especially if your computer is mostly used at home. But what if you go into a new environment but the wireless network has the same network name as the one in your house? Such a scenario is frequent when visiting other homes when they have the same router with the one that you have at your own abode, and both of you did not bother to change the name for the SSID (or the network name). So before you can connect to the new network, you would have to delete the old information first. Read on to know how to do it.

Windows 10 - How to Delete Saved Wi-Fi Networks

Deleting Saved Wi-Fi Networks in Your Windows 10 Computer

Step 1 – If you’ve been using a Windows 7 computer then you jumped to a Windows 10 machine, then you might get a bit of a culture shock since there is a bit of a difference between the two operating systems, especially when you want to delete a Wi-Fi network.

Step 2 – In order to make your Windows 10 PC forget a saved wireless network, you will need to leave the old Windows 7 Control Panel behind in lieu of using the new Settings application. In the current generation Microsoft operating system, the “Manage Wireless Networks” functionality is no more, even when you look inside the Network and Sharing Center.

Step 3 – While in your Windows 10 computer, launch the Settings app by opening your Start menu and then clicking on “Settings.” From there, select “Network & Internet” in the Settings window. When you select the Wi-Fi category, scroll down to the very bottom of the list. Once there, click on the “Manage Wi-Fi settings” link. Once again, scroll down to the very bottom of the page. Ignore the settings pertaining to the Microsoft Wi-Fi Sense feature as these will be discussed on another day. You will then be able to see a “Manage known networks” list at the option in this new menu.

Step 4 – You will then be able to see the list of every Wi-Fi network your Windows 10 machine connected with in the past. In order to forget a network, simply click on the network name to highlight it, then click on “Forget.” Once done, you can now connect to the new network; just make sure you do the same process once more when you go back home.


ADVERTISEMENTS



Share This on Facebook

Up Next:
PC Games - How to Save Money on Purchases

PC Games - How to Save Money on Purchases

If you’re fond of PC games, then it can take a large chunk from your spending allowance whenever new titles come out. Because of frequent sales, games for the PC do cost less than most console games. However, it doesn’t mean that they do not have the ability to break the bank, especially when a bunch of cool titles get a simultaneous re...Read More


 
Windows 10 – How to Delete Saved Wi-Fi Networks
3.8 (76%) ratings from 30 users