There are instances when you just want to reset your Windows 10 computer back to the way it was just like when it came out of the factory. Doing a factory reset can solve a lot of problems from your computer, if it’s experiencing any. Furthermore, it can even remove bloatware (these are the applications added in usually by a certain manufacturer to “assist” the user in many ways).
Doing a Factory Reset in Windows 10 Can Solve Problems From Your Computer
If you’ve stumbled upon this article, chances are you are most likely trying to fix your Windows 10 computer from certain issues. If you’ve already tried several methods but have not solved the issue (or issues) yet, then the first thing you will want to do is to reset the PC. We’re not talking about your average reboot, but a safer one just in case your computer is having problems.
In order to find the reset option, enter the Settings, which can be found in your Start Menu, or you can get there by searching Settings in the Start Menu. Once there, click on the Update & security icon, then click on the Recovery option found on the menu on the left. You will then be presented with an option to Reset this PC. Click on the Get started button under the Reset this PC section which will then present you with two more options, and these are to “Keep my files,” or “Remove everything.”
When you choose the first one, being “Keep my files,” it will remove all the apps and settings in your Windows 10 PC, but it will keep all of your personal files untouched. Clicking on this option will then load the applications that will be removed in the process. These programs can be from the Windows Store to the software that you’ve installed personally. Should you wish to continue with the process, then your PC will save a list of the applications that will be removed. Once you’re happy with what’s going to be removed, then you can hit Reset and just patiently wait for the computer to reset as it may take a while.
But if you want to do a full reset for your Windows 10 computer and have no regard for your personal files, then you can remove everything by choosing the appropriate option. Once you click on that option, you will then be presented with two more, and these are to “Just remove my files,” and “Remove files and clean the drive.” The former is aimed at those who still want to use their Windows PC even after the reset has been completed, whereas the latter is targeted for those who want to sell the PC or would otherwise want to just recycle the parts for another system.
Share This on Facebook