You might be using Yahoo as your primary email account; however, with all the recent breaches in its security, it is clear that it is no longer the most secure service on the planet. You might decide that you would just have to delete the account and go for other email services out there. However, it might be to your best interest to first download all the data first that’s found in your emails and its connected services before deciding to delete the account. Also, you have to be quite sure that you no longer need said account before proceeding. When you’re already quite sure about these, then read on to know how to say goodbye to your old email account.
Deleting Your Email Account in Yahoo
Step 1 – You can start by accessing your Yahoo account through its website. Do note that all data, upon its deletion, will no longer be recoverable if you somehow decide to change your mind. However, you are welcome to create another account if you so wish in the new feature. But if you’ve already decided to move on to other emailing services because of all the security breaches, creating a new account in Yahoo is highly unlikely.
Step 2 – In order to delete your Yahoo email account, head towards the “Terminating Your Yahoo Account page.” In here, you need to sign in with your credentials if you haven’t already. You will then be warned that you will lose all data (as mentioned earlier) as well as all access associated with the account. This means you will no longer be able to access other services with the deleted account, which include its calendar and contacts services.
Step 3 – Upon confirming that you really want to delete your account, it will be deleted upon 90-days. There are, however, reports of people opting to sign up with the same email address even after their old account has been deleted. Should you want to reserve your old email for someone else to use in the future, then it is advised to just leave your account open and not opt to delete it.
Step 4 – But if you really, really, REALLY want to delete your Yahoo account, then you will need to re-enter your current password, as well as provide the correct CAPTCHA code being displayed. Click on the “Terminate This Account” button to proceed. And that’s it; you will then be told that all the data within the email address, along with the associated services connected to it, will be deleted in approximately 90-days.
Share This on Facebook